I Can’t Sleep: A Poem

Unrestrained thought.

Aimlessly my mind wandering.

I can’t sleep.

My mind’s eye sees everything,

And nothing simultaneously.

Maybe a sip of wine will help?

Some warm milk instead.

Countless numbers of wool-covered creatures,

Futility at its best.

I check my phone.

Only three minutes elapsed.

Seriously? Three minutes.

An eternity while lying in the dark.

Snores she does.

Admit it, she won’t.

But she does.

2 a.m.

A foghorn of REM induced breathing.

I will say nothing tomorrow.

Another sheep.

Might as well be a wooly mammoth crashing my dreams.

Unrestrained thought.

I can’t sleep.

Leave a Reply

