Daily Prompt: Sixteen

The Daily Prompt states: Write a post inspired by your sixteenth birthday.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SIXTEEN.

The smart phone went off,

interrupting my slumber.

My friends will call soon, regardless that its early.

10 am.

My excitement can’t be quelled.

I will pass the exam. I will be allowed.

To drive.

I’ve waited for this birthday since I was eight.

I’ll get mom to iron my jeans, I won’t do that.

Breakfast better be quick, I can’t wait.

Dad better be ready to drive me to the DMV.

For soon I will be able to drive myself,

wherever I want to go.

Sixteen is golden,

precious.

I hope I don’t have to get a job.

Sixteen.

21 comments on “Daily Prompt: Sixteen

  1. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  2. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  3. upasna123 says:

    Lovely thoughts..!!! Completely agree with you as I have just experienced it..!!!
    I’d love if you visit my blog and provide me feedback..!!
    https://upasnamattoo.wordpress.com/
    Thanks in advance..!!

    • Vince V. says:

      Thanks for reading and congrats on the license. Looked at your blog, reputation is everything in life whether is represents the true individual or not. Good work on the blog. Keep it up, I think you have something there.

      -Vince

  4. Mishe says:

    I had forgotten all about turning sixteen and finally being able to get a driver’s license! Thanks for the wonderful reminder.

  5. Nowelle says:

    I like the poem. It has a fun quality to it. It helped bring memories to my mind about when I was younger.

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  7. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  8. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  9. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  10. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  11. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  12. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  13. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen (vicariouslypoetic.wordpress.com) […]

  14. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

  15. […] Daily Prompt: Sixteen « Vicariously Poetic […]

Leave a Reply

