Snowman: A Poem

I started as a ball of cold flakes,

rolled on the ground.

Childish laughter all around,

those who constructed me giggled.

Do we give him a button nose?

One asked.

Maybe a top hat like the cartoon goes.

I’ll find some coal.

I came alive one day,

I don’t remember when.

In the front yard I stood watching the cars go by.

My builders climbed on a big yellow tube with wheels.

They would come home and smile as they danced around me.

They would say it was cold outside.

I thought it was perfect.

One day I know I’ll melt away,

like the ice cubes that dissolve in tea.

Next year I’ll return.

Someway, some day.

Leave a Reply

