The Daily Prompt: Anachronism

A Daily Prompt poem:

Uncomfortable.
In my own skin.
No matter how hard I tried,
I just didn’t belong.
Maybe I tried too hard.
Out of place,
Like the scrawny kid,
Picked last for everything.
Invited only because everyone was.
Different, but the same.
I wear the same clothes,
Speak the same language,
But never quite belong.
A living anachronism.
One day, I’ll have courage,
To make my own belonging.
My normal.
Then you will be the anachronism.

One comment on “The Daily Prompt: Anachronism

  1. […] The Daily Prompt: Anachronism (vicariouslypoetic.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

